Southey Sayer Wairarapa Koru's Update

The Koru’s had a fixture against Taranaki in Wanganui on 25/11/18. The team selected was Esther Lanser (C), Kerry Tomlinson, Melissa Hansen, Georgia Atkinson, Hattie Vincent, Olivia Roseingrave, Gemma Sims, Kate Sims, Tahlia Jones-Dennes, Kayarna Jones-Dennes, Ocean Bartlett and Amy Fitzgerald.

The threat of rain was always a possibility during the day.  So the toss was crucial.  Taranaki won the toss and elected to bowl.  The match started 50 minutes late due to showers. Wairarapa didn’t have the best start with our first wicket falling with the score of 7.  Melissa and Kerry steadied the ship with a partnership of 86 for the second wicket. Wairarapa batted out their 40 overs and ended up with a score of 183 for 9. Top scorers were Melissa Hansen 37, Kerry Tomlinson 34 and young Ocean Bartlett not out on 20. Other late contributions from Tahlia Jones-Dennes and Olivia Roseingrave with 10 each.

During the lunch break the covers were put on the pitch, and unfortunately, that’s where they stayed, and the match was abandoned at about 4pm with no signs of the weather abating.

The positives for the team was batting out the full 40 overs and posting the highest score that Wairarapa has ever posted against Taranaki since joining the Mike Shrimpton Trophy in 2016/17 season.